Series Spotlight: SPECTR, Series 1, by Jordan L. Hawk


I recently re-read the first part of Jordan L. Hawk’s magnificent paranormal M/M series, SPECTR (covering Book #1.1 through #1.6). With Series Two underway, and #2.2 due out next month, I wanted to revisit this captivating series, and talk about how much I love Jordan’s brilliant and unique world of demons and vampires.

Already a fan of the series? “Dancer of Death” (#2.2) is out on February 16, and Jordan is offering a copy to one winner when it comes out! Keep reading to find out how to enter! (Open worldwide.)

wordpress blog stats


Things you can expect from a SPECTR novel:

– A federal agent with brilliant blue eyes
– A sassy, sarcastic young man who’s more than he appears
– A vampire who most certainly does not sparkle
– Menage sex with only two bodies
– Mortal nonsense

About the Series:

What happens when an exorcist falls in love with the demon he’s supposed to destroy?

Unregistered paranormal Caleb Jansen only wants a normal life. But when a demon murders his brother, Caleb must avenge Ben’s death, no matter what the cost. Unfortunately, his only allies belong to an extremist group who would kill Caleb if they found out about his talent.

Gray is a wandering spirit, summoned to hunt and destroy demons by drinking their blood. This hunt goes horribly wrong, and for the first time in his existence Gray is trapped in a living, human body. Caleb’s body…and Caleb is still in it.

Hotshot federal agent John Starkweather thinks he’s seen it all. But when he’s called to exorcise Caleb, he finds a creature which isn’t supposed to exist outside of stories. For Gray is a drakul: a vampire.

When John fails to exorcise Gray, the countdown is on. If he can’t find a means of removing the drakul before 40 days pass, Caleb will be possessed forever. In the meantime, the three must find a way to work together. As they hunt down demons and save the innocent, the heat between the two men explodes into passion…and John discovers a different kind of temptation, one that calls into question everything he believes.

So why should you check it out?


Art by Catherine Dair.

Paranormal romances are a dime a dozen. Vampire novels are so abundant that you can close your eyes in a bookstore and find one without opening them. So what makes this series different?

For one thing, the vampire here isn’t your typical bloodsucker. Gray is a drakul, and he’s hungry. But humans mean nothing to him… he’s after demons, his steady source of nourishment. So working with a demon-hunter like John should be a no-brainer. Too bad Caleb, the human Gray’s possessing, is stuck in the middle. And of course, Gray slowly realizes that maybe humans do mean something to him. Two humans, to be specific.

He knew Gray was changing him. Was it possible for him to change Gray? – SPECTR #1.1, “Hunter of Demons”

These books are sexy. The world-building is fantastic, the plot is fast-paced and action-packed, and each book reads like an episode in a TV show, with an over-arching plot tying them together. There’s drama, and mystery, and a hell of a lot of passion. Oh, and there’s some pretty good snark, too. Always important!

Caleb snorted. “Christ, Starkweather, were you born with that ego, or do you inflate it every morning with a bicycle pump?”

“The things you screamed in bed last night helped.” – SPECTR #1.3, “Reaper of Souls”

There are six books in the first series, and each one is the perfect length for one adventure with Caleb and John (and Gray). But Jordan still ties them all together beautifully, leading to an epic climax!


Okay, but maybe you need a bit more convincing?

“Hunter of Demons”, SPECTR Book 1, is currently available for free. So really, you have no excuse not to check out this incredible series. But you should be warned… it’s addictive! And you may develop a sudden and intense appreciation for long hair and leather.


Get it for FREE on, Smashwords, or ARe!

Learn More About the SPECTR Series:

Jordan L. Hawk’s Website
Book 1.2: Master of Ghouls (Buy)
Book 1.3: Reaper of Souls (Buy)
Book 1.4: Eater of Lives (Buy)
Book 1.5: Destroyer of Worlds (Buy)
Book 1.6: Summoner of Storms (Buy)
Series One, Volume One (Contains #1.1 to #1.3) (Buy)
Series One, Volume Two (Contains #1.4 to #1.6) (Buy)

Series Two is Currently Underway!
Book 2.1: Mocker of Ravens (Buy)
Book 2.2: Dancer of Death (Coming Feb. 2016)


Jordan is giving away an e-copy of Dancer of Death away to one lucky winner… and all you have to do to enter is drop a comment on this post! The contest ends February 14, 2016 at 11:59pm EST, and is open worldwide! Please be sure to leave a way for us to contact you!


wordpress hit counter

6 thoughts on “Series Spotlight: SPECTR, Series 1, by Jordan L. Hawk

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Mocker of Ravens (SPECTR 2.1), by Jordan L. Hawk | Just Love: Romance Novel Reviews

Chat with us!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s